milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

milk and honey by Kaur

Rating: ★★★★

Genre: Poetry

Medium: Paperback

Synopsis: In four different chapters, Kaur takes us through her trauma, suffering, and healing using gentle but direct language.  She discusses topics such as women’s bodies, sex, rape, heartbreak, and loneliness.  This book helped her heal, and can help others heal as well.

Review:  I was very glad to finally have read this book!  It’s been circulating in my friends’ reading groups for quite some time.  Kaur’s language is beautiful, as well as the illustrations which accompany certain poems.  While the book and content are beautiful, it is not one for the lighthearted: this book’s format was intended to help her sort through her trauma.  This being said, I also think this is an important book to read.  Kaur opens up to not only help herself, but to help others.  I read parts of this book out loud to my mom, and even my mom, a sometimes harsh critic, thought that the poems were poignant.

However, having seen poems circulate social media such as Tumblr, and having heard my friends rave about it, I was expecting certain topics to be discussed more explicitly.  This book has also been acclaimed as a hugely feminist book–which it is.  Unfortunately, for me, some of the poems discussed feminist subjects which I personally felt well-versed in already.  For me, this left these poems feeling redundant to me, but that’s not to say that they are not important poems.  There are many people on many walks of lives that need to be told that their bodies are beautiful no matter what, and to not let men outlast their stay with them.  For that reason, this book gets 4 stars instead of 5.

Leave a Reply

