The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Tom Sawyer

Rating: ★★★★

Genre: Fiction

Medium: Kindle ebook

Content warnings: Racism

Synopsis: Tom Sawyer is a mischievous boy who would rather torment bugs than go to school or church.  He’s a hero to his classmates, but his aunt stresses over all the trouble he gets into.  Alongside Huckleberry Finn, the son of the town drunk, Tom goes on all sorts of adventures, including romancing the new girl, becoming a pirate, and faking his own death.

Review: The last time I read Mark Twain was when I was in high school, and I’d only read a few snippets from Tom Sawyer.  Now that I’m older and have more of an appreciation of the classics, I have to say that I really enjoyed this.  It was a fun, quick read for me, and this book made me laugh out loud at times.

The reason why this book was so enjoyable is because I really felt like I was reading about a young boy–I think it can be difficult to encompass the voice of childhood, but Twain knows just how to do it.  Tom hates doing chores, schoolwork, and anything that involves not having fun: as an adult, this behavior would get on my nerves, but the child in me was laughing right alongside him.  In addition to this, Tom Sawyer is just so…relateable.  I think my favorite quote is this: “Ah, if he could only die TEMPORARILY!”  Like, same, dude.

In all honesty, when I first read this, I thought it was just going to be a bunch of short stories about Tom and his escapades.  So naturally, I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that there was indeed an overarching plot…and boy, it was a plot I didn’t expect.  Murder?  Treasure?  Death???  Wow.  That’s something I expected from Huckleberry Finn, not Tom Sawyer.

All in all, this book makes for a very good story that makes me want to reminisce about my childhood, or what I can remember from it.  Reading this made me feel like a child again.

Leave a Reply

