Get a Life! The Diaries of Vivienne Westwood by Vivienne Westwood

get a life

Rating: ★★★★1/2

Genre: Autobiography

Medium: Hardback

Synopsis: From the mind of Vivienne Westwood herself, Westwood uses a diary format to catalog her thoughts on varying subjects including her fashion line, culture, and how to save the world.  She discusses her fashion shows, her activism, her politics, her family, and her friends.  She says it best herself: “My Diary is a way of trying to communicate the world through my experience.  My point of view is heretical.  My enemy is the status quo.”

Review: What a woman.  In the grand scheme of things, I’ve only just gotten interested in her fashion line, so when I saw the flyer for her new book, I knew I had to buy it and read it.  Every morning, I’d get up with a cup of coffee, and I’d read a year from her life.  While it’s not a comprehensive biography–we have Ian Kelly to thank for that–it is as close as we can get to the inner workings of her mind.  She knows she thinks differently than the status quo, and because of that, she sometimes must explain herself.  What better way to do that than with a diary-format autobiography?

However, with that being said, it’s a little hard to review somebody’s innermost thoughts!  So, I figure that I should tell you all right now that if you enjoy biographies, if you enjoy women with conviction, and if you enjoy reading about politics, this is the book for you.

Prior to reading this, I already knew that I liked her and her clothing line.  Just by going on her website, you can tell that she’s pro-Earth, pro-people, anti-ecocide, and anti-phobia.  After reading her book, I’m amazed that I hadn’t heard of her activism before.  If you were wondering what an outspoken woman looked like, well, there she is.  And she’s not backing down.  She’s very opinionated, and she knows what she’s talking about.  While I don’t always agree with everything she says, I fully respect what she’s saying.  (And, to clarify, nothing she says is of the hateful manner, so it’s the little things like  what does art really mean? with which I disagree–things I might call trivial, things she might call extremely important).

Honestly, just from reading this book, I can tell that Vivienne Westwood is a wholly genuine person.  She’s outspoken.  She fights for what she believes in.  Before I read this book, I think I just kind of figured that fashion designers were just high-class citizens who uphold a bourgeois status, not really socially and culturally aware.  Vivienne Westwood shook me to my foundations.  At last, I wanted to cry out, a celebrity who recognizes that politicians only care about themselves and who cares about the earth and who will actually do things about the things she cares about.  She was a breath of fresh air.

I wish I could meet her.  I wish I could be like her.  What a woman.

Leave a Reply

