The Lost Property Office by James R. Hannibal

The Lost Property Office

Rating: ★★★★★

Genre: Young Adult fiction, modern fantasy

Medium: Hardback

Synopsis: Jack’s father has gone missing.  And so has his sister–right when he was supposed to be watching over her, too.  In an effort to find her, he winds up on Baker Street, at the Lost Property Office, where Mrs. Hudson offers him a bureaucratic stack of paperwork to fill out.  Gwen Kincaid, the clerk at the Lost Property Office, has another plan for Jack.  Together, they embark on an adventure to save Jack’s father as well as the entirety of London.

Review: I’m so glad I picked up this book at the library.  Fantasy isn’t usually my first choice, but every now and then I have to break free from my chains.  I’m so happy I did it with this book.  This book was fast-paced, action-packed, and filled with great characters.

Also, modern fantasy?  I know I don’t spend a whole lot of time in the fantasy genre, but it’s been a long time since I’ve seen something that isn’t in the middle ages or its equivalent.  There’s mysterious artifacts, awesome powers, and a whole lot of paperwork that goes with it.  There are rumors, and myths, and modes of commuter transportation that would make even the most experienced commuter give a side-eye to.  As a whole, this book was just so creative.

What also made this book enjoyable for me is the fact that there were so many references to Sherlock Holmes.  That being said, if you’re a fan of Sherlock Holmes, chances are you’ll like this book for all the subtle hints.  I mean, Baker Street?  Mrs. Hudson?  Agent Doyle?  And that’s just the beginning.  Recognizing those tidbits brought a smile to my face, and made me feel privy to a secret that only I and the author knew (as well as everybody else who knows about Sherlock Holmes…but that’s beside the point).

Ultimately, the plot was compelling, the characters were creative, and the book was overall fun.  And, it’s the first of a series, so I’m more than excited for whenever the next one comes out!

Leave a Reply

