The Mothers by Brit Bennett

The Mothers

Rating: ★★★★★

Genre: Fiction

Medium: Hardback

Synopsis: The mothers are privy to a secret.  Quite a few of them, actually.  When Nadia begins to see Luke, a 21 year old waiter, the two find themselves having consequences to their actions which will end up haunting them for years to come.  As their lives grow apart, they become more intertwined.  And what exactly do the mothers have to say about all this?

Review: I don’t know the last time I read a book that gave me lingering goosebumps at the end.  I was immediately enthralled by this book, what with the perspective of the church mothers of Upper Room, who are privy to all the town’s secrets.  Because of this perspective, you’re not just reading a story–you’re listening in on the gossip.  You’re part of the secret now, too.  And you want to know more.

At least, that’s how I felt.  This book was poetic, artistic, and left me nodding my head and giving sharp huffs of laughter at how realistic this book is.  For most of the book, I found myself rooting for the characters as much as I did hoping that they’d do something differently.  I found that, for me, this book was about the human experience, how one little action and a wad of cash can wildly affect the rest of your life, can create everlasting wishes and hopes and dreams.  How the shame and second thoughts can trickle back up to the surface years later, when you’re at dinner, when you’re at college and even when you’re at your best friend’s wedding.

I’d been wanting to read this book for a while, for I’d only heard good things about it since it came out.  I was not disappointed.  Not one bit.  I loved this book, and hope to purchase a copy for myself very soon.  I have a plethora of quotes I want to underline, and a story I want to thumb through again, and again, and again.

Leave a Reply

