The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer

The Beautiful Dead

Rating: ★★★★

Genre: Crime fiction, thriller

Medium: Paperback

Synopsis: It’s Christmas time, and Eve Singer is in over her head.  She’s struggling to stay relevant as a crime newscaster who no longer glows youthfully, her father has dementia, and there’s a serial killer on the loose.  However, after a particularly riveting report on one of the murders, the killer begins to take an interest in her, helping her get leads before the rest of the rivaling news stations.  But how far will Eve let this go?  Is getting the best story really worth dying over?

Review: I don’t normally dabble out of crime or thriller stories, simply because I tend to gravitate towards left-of-plum slice-of-life stories.  But this is one book I’m glad I picked up.  It immediately caught my eyes because of the cover: yellow butterflies pinned against a black background?  Has the word ‘dead’ on the cover?  I was sold.  And thus began my journey into reading this book.

I was hooked.  Eve is your sarcastic, snarky woman simply trying to make it in a man’s world.  Her jibes and jabs at society and her rather big-mouthed boss add a great deal of humor to the book, which is absolutely necessary given the fact that her father’s in poor health and there’s a killer on the loose.  She’s worried about getting her Christmas shopping done, paying the bills, and wondering if she’s too old for her crush.  She’s just like you and I.  She’s also worried that she’s going to be a victim.  Okay, maybe just a little less like you and I.  Or maybe not–hopefully none of you are dealing with that last bit.

One thing that I appreciated about this book was the realisticness of it all.  Granted, I don’t work within a crime and justice type of job, so maybe it’s just me in my ignorant bliss.  But the way Eve goes about her life, goes about her job…it just seemed realistic.  It seemed logical, necessary.  There wasn’t anything too fantastic about her getting reamed by her boss or misleading the newscaster from the opposing station.  Overall, it was like Goldilocks’ favorite porridge: it was just right.

Normally, when I read a book, I make sure to read at least 50 pages a day, and if it gets a really interesting, I have absolutely no problem reading past that minimum.  I sped through the last 200 pages of this book, because holy crap.  Imagine me: sitting on the floor at a train station because my train has been delayed for an hour and a half, thanking god that it was because otherwise, I don’t know if I would have been able to put the book down.  I was flipping pages every few seconds (seemingly to me), I was gasping, staring widely–I’m sure it was a sight to see.

And that ultimately is the reason why you all should read this book.  If you like thrillers, killers, and sitting on the edge of your seat, this book is the one for you.  Don’t pass it up.

Leave a Reply

