Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Hyperbole and a Half

Rating: ★★★★

Genre: Memoir, humor

Medium: Paperback

Synopsis: Follow Allie Brosh as she recounts her life dealing with anxiety, depression, and a little bit of self-reflection to boot.  With the help of an art program called Paintbrush, she recreates moments of her life with pictures to go along with the slightly exaggerated stories.  In this book, she talks about depression, geese, hot sauce, and dogs.

Review: Delightful, mostly light-hearted, and humorous.  That’s how I would describe Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half.  I read this book in nearly a day, glad to have finally been reading a book that I waited months for to come out (and then consequently spent years unable to purchase and then unable to read).

Honestly?  This book had me laughing out loud and sharing bits with my mom.  The pictures, obviously similar/the same from her blog, brought me back to a simpler time in the internet days, ones where I was worried about having the funniest rage comic and being supermegafoxyawesome hot.  I thank her for allowing me to reminisce so positively.

It’s my hope that when she’s ready, she’ll publish another memoir, and I can relish in her amusing storytelling skills.

2 thoughts on “Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

    • For sure the Hot Sauce one–I read that one when I first bought the book, and then forgot about it during the couple of years between buying and reading it, and then found myself sooo pleasantly surprised rereading it!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

