The Night Manager by John le Carré

The Night Manager

Rating: ★★★★

Genre: Spy literature

Medium: Paperback

Synopsis: Richard Onslow Roper is the worst man in the world.  Under the guise as a farm seller, he secretly sells and exchanges weapons and other notorious black market.  Enter Leonard Burr.  Leonard detests Richard, and will do anything to stop him–including recruiting veteran Jonathan Pine, a hotelier whose lover was just beaten to death by Roper’s men.  Moved by vengeance, Jonathan Pine accepts his new life as a spy and enters a world full of deception, anger, and guns.

Review: I’ll come up front and say it at the beginning of this review: I couldn’t watch the final episode of The Night Manager because I was too stressed out about it, so I went out and purchased and read the book before finishing the television series.  And I’m so glad I did.

As always, the book has much more info that the series, but I was actually rather pleased to spot the differences.  In the series, the locations and characters have been updated for a more modern take on the world–as you can guess, the book is just as political as the television series, if not more.  Because of that, I learned quite a bit about which countries didn’t like other countries, and what the political wartime world looked like at the time.

And, as always, we were granted more insight into the characters.  We learn more about Jed and her behaviors, and just why Jonathan is so entranced by her.  Heck, I’m entranced by her.

The Night Manager is actually the first spy thriller I’ve read and watched.  So not knowing about what the common tropes are aside from lots of guns, spying, and getting the girl at the end, my review is certainly gong to come off as a bit amateurish.  Still, I found The Night  Manager to be hugely entertaining, a book that you’d sometimes have to pry out of my hands.  Because of this, I’d have to say that regardless that it’s my first spy thriller, I really, truly enjoyed this, and didn’t feel inundated with the sorts of (neutral) criticisms that run through my head when reading lots from the same genre.  I’d definitely recommend this to anybody who wanted something riveting, secret, and sometimes hap-hazardous on the characters’ parts.

Leave a Reply

